Scholarships & Events Committee

The Scholarships & Events Committee

The Cal-ICMA Bylaws specify that the Scholarships & Events Committee shall be composed of no fewer than ten members.  In the selection of members, consideration will be given to such representation factors as agency or jurisdiction size, geographical location, and membership profile (e.g., city, county, academic, Cal-ICMA members, etc.).

Committee members’ terms of office shall be two (2) years.

Duties and responsibilities are as follows:

  1. develop a paper and internet-based annual calendar of events;
  2. work to attract ICMA training events to California;
  3. program sessions at coordinating organizations’ events that are open to all Cal-ICMA members;
  4. develop Cal-ICMA sponsored or co-sponsored professional development and networking events;
  5. develop and implement programs and projects that promote recruitment and retention of talented individuals (including mentoring).

Additionally, the Committee will publicize and coordinate the scheduling of ICMA University events in California.

Committee Roster

Kevin Woodhouse (Co-chair)

Midpeninsula Regional Open Space District

Laura Biery (Co-chair)

City of West Covina

Chantal Cotton-Gaines

City of Oakland


Mike James

City of Lemon Grove


Jessie Rubin

City/County of San Francisco


Tony Winney

City of Vista


Denise Rose

Brooktrails Township


Louie F. Lacasella

City of Azusa


Andrew Murray

City of Pleasant Hill


Nick Gonzalez

City of Ontario


Meghan McKelvey

League of California Cities


Pam Easter

ICMA Liaison to California


Want to add a comment?

Login to your account or Create a free account to leave a comment and get access to more features.