ICMA Executive Board

The 21-member Executive Board oversees the business of ICMA. The Board also enforces the ICMA's Code of Ethics.

ICMA Executive Board Roster

ICMA's 2017-18 Executive Board includes:

First Row (left to right): Heather Geyer, Administrative Services Director, Wheat Ridge, Colorado (Mountain Plains region); Marc Ott, ICMA Executive Director; Karen Pinkos, Assistant City Manager, El Cerrito, California (President-Elect); David Johnstone, City Manager, Candiac, Quebec, Canada (President); Lee Feldman, City Manager, Fort Lauderdale, Florida (Past President); Stephanie J. Mason, Township Manager, Doylestown, Pennsylvania (Northeast region); James G. Jayne, Director of Special Initiatives, Coconino County, Arizona (Mountain Plains region)

Second Row (left to right): Lon Pluckhahn, City Manager, Marion, Iowa (Midwest region); Carlos Baia, City Manager, Concord, New Hampshire (Northeast region); Dennis Hovenden, Chief Executive Officer, Frankston, Victoria, Australia (International region); Martha J. Bennett, Chief Operating Officer, Metro Council, Portland, Oregon (West Coast region); W. Lane Bailey, City Manager, Salisbury, North Carolina (Southeast region); Edward R. Driggers, City Administrator, Greer, South Carolina (Southeast region); Maria Hurtado, Assistant City Manager, Hayward, California (West Coast region); Matthew W. Hart, Town Manager, West Hartford, Connecticut (Northeast region)

Third Row (left to right): Frans G. Mencke, City Manager, Hoorn, Netherlands (International region); Carl Harness, Chief Human Services Administrator, Hillsborough County, Florida (Southeast region); Bruce Channing, City Manager, Laguna Hills, California (West Coast region); Bert Lumbreras, City Manager, San Marcos, Texas (Mountain Plains region); Tim Anderson, Chief Administrative Officer, Waterloo, Ontario, Canada (International region); Wally Bobkiewicz, City Manager, Evanston, Illinois (Midwest region); Patrick E. Klein, Assistant City Manager, Kansas City, Missouri (Midwest region) 


How the ICMA Executive Board Functions

ICMA’s 21-member Executive Board acts in the capacity of directors, overseeing the organization’s financial, member-related, and programmatic affairs and selecting the ICMA president. The Board also enforces the organization’s Code of Ethics, which governs the professional and personal conduct of the membership. Board members attend four Board meetings annually.

The ICMA Executive Board is made up of the president, president-elect, past president, and 18 vice presidents. Three vice presidents are from each of the organization’s five U.S. regions (Northeast, Southeast, Midwest, Mountain Plains, and West Coast), and three are from countries outside the U.S.

ICMA Executive Board Roster

Presidential Selection 

The ICMA Executive Board selects the president-elect each year, usually in June, from among eligible former regional vice presidents. To be eligible to serve as president-elect, one must be a former ICMA vice president who has been off the executive board for a minimum of one year and is currently working for a local government.

Nomination of Regional Vice Presidents

The nominations process for ICMA regional vice presidents formally launches every September for elections and induction the following year. To learn more about the process and how to submit your name for consideration to your Regional Nominating Committee, click here

Minutes and Highlights

Board minutes and highlights are published in the ICMA member newsletter. If you would like access to a past agendas, minutes, or meeting materials please contact asnowden@icma.org.


Want to add a comment?

Login to your account or Create a free account to leave a comment and get access to more features.